I notice that if I only have Administrators checked for the Show_group_members user permission, then people who aren't logged in still see the People link (as opposed to only administrators seeing it). Is this supposed to be how it is?
If I uncheck administrators, then it doesn't show up for anyone, as I would expect.
Oh, I guess the ones checked are the ones shown. So, if I check administrators, it shows everyone the administrators.
That's it and it is almost the reverse of what you might expect given the way the other permissions work.
Once any group is checked then anyone in a group with the View permission for the forum/sub-forum will see the "People" link and the members of any checked groups for that forum/sub-forum.
On a number of my forums I clear all groups from the show-group-members permission at the top level so no ordinary user to see what groups exist (or any of their members), but because, as Administrator, the "People" link can be useful, I create a sub-forum where only administrators have the View permission and all groups are shown in that forum. (Such a sub-forum is extremely useful for moving unwanted posts into rather than deleting them. It preserves the evidence of the offending post.
Just a Volunteer Nabble Helper - because the nice folk at Nabble have helped me! GregHelp - Building a set of answers to Nabble FAQs.